Cairo Carriageways

Cairo Carriageways

Back in January 2012 when I flew into Cairo I didn’t know what to expect. I came out of the arrivals gate and was met by a representative from my school. He helped me with my bags and loaded them and me into a small microbus. As we zoomed out of the airport and onto the infamous Ring Road, I had no idea of what was coming. The traffic roared all around us. Cars zoomed by at breakneck speeds. There were four lanes of traffic marked on the road, but the traffic was 6 lanes wide. Donkey karts trotted alongside the highway. People hung off the backs of trucks and some sat on top. After almost two years in Cairo, I can unequivocally say that the thing I will miss the least, is the traffic.

Leave a Reply

