The Misunderstood Hyena

The Misunderstood Hyena

Now, like most kids from North America born in the late 80’s I grew up during the so-called Disney Renaissance. I grew up with animated classics like Toy Story, The Hunchback of Notre Dame and most notably The Lion King. At the time, I didn’t know much about animals and even less about Swahili culture. What I did know, I learned through the immortal words of Simba, Timon, and Pumba. In Tanzania, hakuna matata is often heard in small talk and it really does mean no worries. One point for The Lion King. However, while on safari I learned that in the wild hyenas are not the mindless scavengers that they are portrayed as in the Disney classic. They will make a kill and lions will wait to scavenge their leftovers just as often as vice versa. They also make hauntingly guttural sounds that keep you up all night, which I experienced while camping on the plains of the Serengeti. Now, they have climbed the ranks to sit as one of my favourite animals, despite the misinformation I was spoon fed as a youngster.

SONY DSC

One thought on “The Misunderstood Hyena

  1. Pingback: When You Get Used By A Lion | Jesse Sharratt

Leave a Reply

