Camaraderie, Tear Gas and Buckshot

Fury, Tear Gas and Buckshot

While I was in Egypt I went to some of the protests to experience it. The energy was palpable. The majority of the protesters were in Tahrir Square, peaceful but angry. On the side streets, battles between Egyptian youth and police were raging. Tear gas filled the streets. Buckshot was fired. As I ran around taking photos, Egyptian guys ran with me, making sure I knew where the gas was coming. They were protecting me, helping me be a part of their fight.

In the last two months, more journalists have been killed in Egypt than had been in the two previous years. The protection I experienced seems to be disappearing. Egyptians distrust Western news outlets more and more as their revolution continues, believing that the West is siding with the embattled Muslim Brotherhood.

Leave a Reply

