Indian Ocean Island

Indian Ocean Island

I woke up early to catch the ferry to Rottnest Island, a small island off the coast of Western Australia. I had heard tales about how beautiful it was and I wanted to test their authenticity. After a leisurely 25 minute ferry ride, I arrived on the island. I went directly to a rental shop where I grabbed a bike and snorkel gear. I found a very detailed map and my plan was to bike around the whole island and snorkel at all of the best sites.

IMG_8328

The sun was scorching and as I pedalled along sweat poured faster than I could wipe it off. I soon realized I was going to have to stop for a lot of snorkel breaks, this seemed like a perfectly acceptable solution.

IMG_8322

Around each corner I found beautiful vistas, turquoise waters with colourful fish and lots of little quokkas. (Quokkas are small marsupials, about the size of a house cat and very friendly) All in all it was a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

