Istanbul’s Bosphorus River

Istanbul's Bosphorus River

Sitting along a bridge in Istanbul, I looked out to see the silhouettes of mosques shadowed by the setting sun. I went to Turkey when I was studying in France and it was my first foray into a Middle Eastern country. When the call to prayer rang out across the city and the sun washed the evening sky in colour, I must have been affected more than I knew at the time. It was only two years later that I’d pack my bags and move to Egypt to do the same on the river Nile.

Leave a Reply

