A Portrait Of A Man

Bare Feet and Tasty Treats

Two of my favourites things in the abundantly awesome Sri Lanka, were the food and the people. Kindness was the currency of choice.

As I walked along the beach of Tangalle, I peered into a few restaurants. The food in Sri Lanka is unbelievable and I didn’t want to risk finding a place that would tarnish the reputation. I went in to inspect a menu at close quarters and before I had a chance to make up my mind, this gentleman welcomed me in. His bare feet dug into the sand as his crease-filled face broke into a smile. I couldn’t refuse and he led me to a seat.

As I sat down to anticipate another delicious Sri Lankan meal, my new friend returned to sitting by the shore, waiting for the next hungry visitor to walk on by.

IMG_2636

Leave a Reply

