The Battle of Night and Day

The Battle of Night and Day

After hours of putting one foot in front of the other, stomping up stairs, I was nearing my goal. I was in southern Sri Lanka and a holy pilgrimage had pulled me out of bed in the middle of the night. I was surrounded by the faithful, making their climb to the top of Adam’s Peak in duty to their deities. But the only absolution I sought, was with the rising sun. Soon, the darkness began to break and shapes came into focus across the hazy horizon. The eternal battle between night and day waned, as fiery light shattered the blackened battlefield.

4 thoughts on “The Battle of Night and Day

      • Don’t mind at all. I was there for almost two weeks in April 2013. I did a circuit through the southern half of the country. It was truly fantastic. The food was phenomenal, the people were incredibly friendly and the naturally beauty was stunning. I highly recommend Sri Lanka.

Leave a Reply

